Booster Swap Tips

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Booster Swap Tips

Might have to change the brake booster on my red Magnum. I might just swap to the 79 setup as I have a new one, and new master cylinder. Now, if I go with that 79 setup, will the brake lines mate up?

Funny thing, it hisses bad at first, but after it runs awhile, the hissing stops. Is it the booster?

bringin' em back ~ to the Dodge Mahal !!....

Where old Magnums can find a home.. :angel:

Originally posted by Magnumguy
    Might have to change the brake booster on my white Magnum. I might just swap to the 79 setup as I have a new one, and new master cylinder. Now, if I go with that 79 setup, will the brake lines mate up?

Funny thing, it hisses bad at first, but after it runs awhile, the hissing stops. Is it the booster?
    Bill, most likely the booster is bad..........virtually ALL of my R-body police cars had the HD tandem booster rot through where it meets the firewall; water got behind them, in the sponge gasket between the booster and firewall, rotting out the rear of the booster, causing a vacuum leak. When it gets bad enough, you will have no power assist, and the engine will not idle properly, or at all, due to a massive vacuum leak! I had to replace 3-4 of them, when they were still available new from Mopar; but the tandem booster has not been manufactured in years.....they were all made in the Bendix Plant, just a few miles from my house, and that plant shut down YEARS ago! (Green Island, NY)

I am assuming your Magnum has the regular booster, and 4 bolt master cylinder, correct??

I am not sure what is involved in this swap, but it should be easy enough to check the size of the brake line fittings before starting.

If you have never used the HD tandem booster, and HD police semi-metallic brake pads......you are in for a treat! Vastly superior braking with the tandem booster!

Link:

http://www.moparstyle.com/classified...e-truck&cat=16

Comment