Considering A Late B with a 318

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Considering A Late B with a 318

Just wondering if these drive similar with a 318 to say an M-Body Chrysler Fifth Avenue? I just sold an 84 Chrysler Fifth Avenue with 96k miles. The Fifth Avenue had 2.26 gears and was mainly stock except for the 2 1/4 single exhaust and Canadian Y-pipe thank you.

Actually I would expect it to ride a bit smoother as the wheelbase is a little longer (provider everything is in good shape). When I had my '88 5th and my '67 Coronet, the Coronet rode a little smoother due to the wheelbase. I am looking (ok, just not hard enough) for another B or F/J/M in decent enough shape to make as a driver. They handle about the same. Front end is a little longer than the "M" was.
    "You're only as old as the women you feel."
    -Groucho Marx
    Moparless for now

Comment

i have a Diplomat that rides nice, but a Magnum does run a hair smoother. About same performance.
      Visitors are encouraged to be Members, by registering.
      Members are encouraged to be Participants, by posting.
      Check out my Blog "Life & Times of an Old NSS Racer"

Comment

Thank you for the reply. I would using the car just to cruise around in. This Late B with a 318 popped so I figure why not. It has A/C too which is a bonus for me. A big block would be nice but, whatever comes my way I suppose.

Comment

Thanks BK, that's kind of what I figured since the "highest" gear in a late B as far as I know is a 2.45 ratio. I also have a chance to buy a Mirada with a 360 but, no A/C. I liked the A/C in my old Fifth Avenue.

Comment

You can always change the engine later. A/C is a must for me.
            "You're only as old as the women you feel."
            -Groucho Marx
            Moparless for now

Comment

Steve?

bringin' em back ~ to the Dodge Mahal !!....

Where old Magnums can find a home.. :angel:

Comment