78 Magnum Force GT

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 78 Magnum Force GT

Just thought I'd clear the air on the Magnum Force GT. I was a sales manager for a Dodge dealer during the late 70's and 80's. I remember the Magnums well. Loved them.
    I have read much about people saying that Magnum Force GT's are fake. They are not. During 78-79, participating Dodge dealers were able to buy (and add on) the "Magnum Force' pkg, which consisted of 3 decal graphics and a rear spoiler. This pkg was put together by an outside vendor (i believe in Canada, but cant be sure). This was to be added to the GT pkg cars. We sold 1 car with the "Force" pkg. It was white. This added $376 to the price of the car. I believe the steep price was its demise.
    This pkg did not obviously show up on the data plate, vin or build sheet, but was considered a dealer add on. When we installed ours, it just showed up as "MJ add on" on the invoice. So for someone to blatantly say these are fake, they are incorrect.
    IBesides the 1 we sold, I have only seen 1 other in Wisconsin at a car show about 15 years ago, in real. There was 1 on ebay recently, auction 251258012736. These are the rarest of the rare for late Mopars. I would guess perhaps less than 50 were put together.
    Thanks for reading, if anyone has any out there, please feel free to add thoughts.
    PS the "Magnum Force" show/giveaway car by car craft was not an original Magnum Force car. The rear spoiler was different.

I think we're referring to the one on Ebay now, which isn't a real Force car. I knew of the car before the goodies were added. The spoiler is an RC Auto Prod's repop, now the flares might be the real deal. Can't tell from the pictures therefore I can't say for certain.

I know they're real cars, I've seen a couple, and I have 2 spoilers and a set and a half (maybe a full 2 sets) of Force flares, which are different than the GT flares.