PDA

View Full Version : Cold start, YES! Warm start, NO! 318-4bbl

irishrrt
08-01-2012, 11:51 AM
Hi all! This is my first post here. I have a 1986 Ram D150 with a 318 and a 4 barrel edlebrock carb. Ok, I'm an absolute mechanical novice so any help is greatly appreciated.

Here is my trouble. The first time I start the truck everyday it fires right up with no problems or hesitation (takes one press of the gass pedal before I turn the key). After I drive the truck around or to the store or wherever, the truck won't start. It will crank and every now and then it will start with a little gas pedal play. This problem has gotten progressively worse the last two weeks and now it definitely won't start after a quick trip. I'm wondering if its a flooding or carb issue? The truck has a rough idle when it runs but it stays running and accelerates smoothly.

Thanks guys, please be as specific as possible.

dodgeboy8
08-01-2012, 11:21 PM
boiling the shit gas when it sits hot pump it good twice and hold it 1/2 open till it starts.

blocking the heat crossover under the carb helps (maybe a bit testy in the winter)

heat sheilds help
http://www.summitracing.com/search/?keyword=carburetor%20heat%20sheilds&dds=1
or carb spacer wood or plastic.
http://www.summitracing.com/search/Part-Type/Carburetor-Spacers/?keyword=carburetor+spacers&kr=carburetor+spacers

Gageraid
08-02-2012, 01:52 AM
How's the choke?

270SE
08-02-2012, 02:28 AM
boiling the shit gas when it sits hot pump it good twice and hold it 1/2 open till it starts.

blocking the heat crossover under the carb helps (maybe a bit testy in the winter)

heat sheilds help
http://www.summitracing.com/search/?keyword=carburetor%20heat%20sheilds&dds=1
or carb spacer wood or plastic.
http://www.summitracing.com/search/Part-Type/Carburetor-Spacers/?keyword=carburetor+spacers&kr=carburetor+spacers
Biggest problems right there.

Usually on those hot starts you just have to hold it- but you often will in the weather most places now.